Light Has to Be Fastest

Today, I had to make a left turn from a two-way street.  There was a car coming towards me, so I quickly analyzed how fast he was goingl, how quickly he was going to reach me, and whether or not I had the time to turn before he reached me.  The conclusion I came up with was, “No.”
So I waited.  

As I was waiting for him to pass me, I looked his headlights.  It was overcast and sprinkly but not dark, so I didn’t lose my night vision or anything.  

During this period of time, I had a very odd thought.  “I wonder if the time that the light takes in reaching me affects my perception of where he is?” 

Almost immediately, I realized how foolish of a question that was.  Light is the fastest, well, thing! in all of creation!  

Then, I realized that God had to make light travel seemingly-instantly because otherwise all of our actions would be disastrously delayed. Can you imagine driving when you had a 5 second delay between when someone did something and when you reacted?  Even giving people high-fives would be a feat of the highest difficulty!  

If light traveled even only at the speed of sound, the world as we know it wouldn’t work at all.  

However, would we even notice, if this was how it had always been? 

Food for thought, eh? šŸ™‚

-Sydney

12 thoughts on “Light Has to Be Fastest

Any Comments?

